History of the ASEAN Community
Establishment of the ASEAN Community begins with the commitment of ASEAN leaders with the signing of the ASEAN Vision 2020 in Kuala Lumpur in 1997 which aspires to ASEAN as a community. Later in the 9th ASEAN Summit in Bali in 2003 with the signing of ASEAN Concord II which states ASEAN as a community in 2020. But in the 12th ASEAN Summit in Cebu, Philippines in January 2007, the commitment to realize the ASEAN Community is accelerated from 2020 to 2015 with the signing of the “Cebu Declaration on the Acceleration of the Establishment of an ASEAN Community by 2015” (www.setneg.go.id)

ASEAN countries which consists of Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Brunei, Philippines, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Myanmar proclaimed the establishment of the ASEAN Community. Three pillars of ASEAN Community is the ASEAN Security Community ( ASC), ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC). Of the three pillars, Indonesia is currently promoting the development of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC).

Awareness Survey AEC
Therefore, the importance for the Indonesian people to know about the AEC. A survey conducted by the Research and Community Service (LPPM) LSPR Jakarta aims to determine whether the presence of AEC has been known by the people of Indonesia. Survey was conducted online during the month of November 2014.

pie chart

The results stated 54% of respondents already knew about the AEC. However, the percentage who do not know the AEC is large enough that 46%. These findings indicate the need for increased promotion of the AEC by all parties, especially the government of Indonesia.

table obtain info from

dominant media sources